Skip to content
Pricing

How Much Does AI Search Optimization Software Typically Cost: What It Actually Costs in 2026

AI search optimization software costs $17 to $99 a month at entry level and about $150 to $500 mid-tier. Named vendor prices, checked November 3, 2026.

ByMatthew JohnsonFounder, Pleiades Consultancy·Published August 3, 2026·Updated November 3, 2026·8 min read
Illustration for How Much Does AI Search Optimization Software Typically Cost: What It Actually Costs in 2026

Key Takeaways

  • Entry plans from named vendors cost $17 to $99 a month (pricing pages checked November 3, 2026), and mid-tier plans run about $150 to $500.
  • Enterprise plans are mostly quote-only, and Rankscale is the one vendor checked that publishes a price, $663 to $780 a month.
  • Software only measures. It does not do the citation, content, or schema work that actually moves your visibility. That is why it costs far less than a done-for-you retainer.
  • The biggest cost driver is how many prompts you track: Otterly.AI's $29 plan tracks 15 and its $189 plan tracks 100.
  • A single-location business tracking under 10 queries can run a legitimate $0 DIY stack with manual checking and free schema tools.

How Much Does AI Search Optimization Software Cost?

AI search optimization software costs $17 to $99 a month at entry level. I checked eleven trackers' pricing pages on November 3, 2026, and nine of them start somewhere in that band. Mid-tier plans run about $150 to $500, and enterprise is mostly a sales call. That covers most businesses buying a tool to see where they show up when someone asks ChatGPT or Google AI Overviews for a recommendation.

For a wider view, Steal What Works compared 34 tools in May 2026 and found the median cheapest plan was $79 a month and the median top plan was $400. A single-location business rarely needs a top plan.

The one thing you have to understand before you spend a dollar: software measures, it does not fix. The tool tells you that you are invisible on Perplexity. It does not write the comparison page or build the Foursquare profile that gets you cited. Keep that distinction in your head for the rest of this post. If you want the full picture on the service side, our breakdown of what an AI search costs end to end covers the work, not just the dashboard.

Three Software Tiers

The market sorts into three tiers. Knowing which tier fits your business is the whole game, because buying up a tier you do not need is the single most common way owners overspend here.

Entry tier ($17 to $99 per month). A tracker that runs a short list of prompts on a schedule and reports whether you appear in AI answers. Otterly.AI's $29 Lite plan tracks 15 prompts across four engines, and Peec AI's $95 Starter tracks 50 across three models you pick. Good enough for a single location and a short question list.

Mid tier (about $150 to $500 per month). This is where multi-location businesses and anyone tracking 100 or more questions land. You get more prompts and more engines. Otterly.AI's Standard plan is $189 for 100 prompts, Peec AI's Pro is $245 for 150, and Scrunch AI's Core is $250 for 125 across four engines. If a tool sells some engines as add-ons, add them to the price before you compare.

Enterprise tier (mostly quote-only). More engines, API access, more seats and agency workspaces. Profound, Scrunch AI, Peec AI, Otterly.AI and Writesonic all ask you to talk to sales. Rankscale publishes its enterprise plan at $663 a month billed yearly or $780 monthly. A single-storefront business almost never needs this. If you are comparing tools for a startup specifically, our note on AI search costs for startups covers where the mid tier is plenty.

Concept illustration for the section The Three Software Tiers
Concept illustration: The Three Software Tiers.

Prices by Tier and by Tool

TierMonthly PriceBest ForWatch Out For
Manual / Free$01 location, under 10 queriesNo trend data, no alerts
Entry$17 to $99Single location, short query listPrompt caps as low as 15
MidAbout $150 to $500Several locations, 100 or more questionsEngine add-ons and seat caps
EnterpriseMostly quote-onlyAgencies, multi-location brandsOverkill for one storefront

Read the table as a decision tool. If you are a single dental practice in Phoenix tracking a dozen questions, you live in the free-to-entry range. A five-location restoration company in Wisconsin belongs in mid-to-enterprise. Buying above your row is the most common overspend.

What the named tools charge

These are the cheapest paid plans on each vendor's own pricing page, checked on November 3, 2026. Each tool name links to the page I read.

AI search tracking tools: cheapest paid plan, US dollars a month, November 3, 2026
ToolCheapest paid plan ($/mo)Billing for that pricePrompts includedNext plan up ($/mo)
Rankscale17Yearly only120 credits (credit-based)84 (yearly)
Otterly.AI29Monthly15189
BrightLocal Track31AnnualUp to 20 per location40
Ahrefs Brand Radar50Not statedYour own prompts699 (all models)
SE Ranking71Annual75151.20 (annual)
LLMrefs79 (limited time)Monthly500, refreshed weeklyNo higher plan listed
Writesonic GEO79Annual50199
Peec AI95Monthly50245
Semrush AI Visibility (Base)99Annual25Add-ons only
Scrunch AI250Not stated125Enterprise, quote only
ProfoundNo public priceFree 7-day trial50 a day in the trialEnterprise, quote only

How we got these numbers

I read each vendor's pricing page on November 3, 2026 and took the cheapest paid plan in US dollars a month. Where a vendor only shows annual billing, the table shows that rate and says so. Free tiers and trials are left out of the price column. Prompt counts aren't like-for-like: a prompt at one vendor can cover more engines, or run more often, than at another. BrightLocal includes AI tracking inside its local SEO plans, so its price isn't for tracking alone. Ahrefs also sells a separate AI Visibility Index from $199 a month.

What Drives the Number Up

Four things push your software bill higher, and only one of them is the sticker price.

Prompts. This is the biggest lever. Plans are priced by how many questions the tool runs for you: Otterly.AI's $29 plan tracks 15 prompts and its $189 plan tracks 100. Locations count here too, because every town you serve multiplies the list, and BrightLocal allows up to 20 prompts per location.

Engines. Entry plans usually cover three or four AI engines, and the rest can cost extra. Otterly.AI sells Claude, Google AI Mode and Gemini as paid add-ons, and Scrunch AI keeps Claude, Gemini and Google AI Mode for its Enterprise plan.

Overage and seat fees. Add a second user, add a client, or blow past your prompt cap and the bill moves. Semrush charges $60 a month for each extra 50 prompts and $99 a month for each extra domain. These are the fees that make the sticker price a fiction. We wrote a full guide on overage charges and usage limits in these platforms because owners get surprised by them constantly.

Reporting depth. Per-platform citation rate, competitor tracking, and white-label reports live in higher tiers. If you need to show a client or a board a clean per-surface report, you pay for it.

What Drives the Number Down

Three moves cut the bill without cutting the value.

Annual billing. Most vendors discount for paying yearly: Otterly.AI 15%, SE Ranking 20% and BrightLocal 25%. On a $200 monthly tool, that is $360 to $600 saved across the year. If you are confident in the tool after a trial, commit annually.

Tighten your query list. You do not need to track 80 questions. Track the 10 to 15 that actually drive revenue: the money-question searches a buyer types right before they call. A tight list keeps you in a cheaper tier.

Skip the enterprise features you will not use. API access and unlimited seats sound nice. If you are one owner tracking one location, they are dead weight. Buy the row you sit in.

Before you assume you even need a dedicated tool, it is worth knowing whether AI search optimization is a separate discipline from your existing SEO stack. Our piece on whether AI search needs a separate tool from SEO answers that directly.

Concept illustration for the section What Drives the Number Down
Concept illustration: What Drives the Number Down.

Hidden Costs of AI Search Monitoring and Tracking Tools

The dashboard nobody acts on. This is the waste I see most. A tracker only earns its fee when the numbers change what you do next. Otterly.AI's $189 Standard plan comes to $2,268 a year. A dashboard you look at and never act on buys you nothing for that but the feeling of being informed.

Per-location creep. A plan that looks cheap for one location can climb fast once you add more. Get the price at your real location count in writing before you sign anything, because that's the number you'll actually be paying.

Single-platform tools. A tracker that only watches ChatGPT isn't the cheap option. It's the incomplete one. The engines pull from different places, even inside Google. Ahrefs compared 730,000 responses and found AI Mode and AI Overviews cited the same URLs only 13.7% of the time. Being seen on one surface tells you very little about the next.

Software vs Done-For-You Services

Here is the sentence that saves you the most money in this whole article: software measures, services fix. A $150 tool tells you that you are absent from Perplexity for your top three service questions. It will not write the comparison content, build the Foursquare and Apple Maps profiles, add the LocalBusiness schema, or clean the citation network that changes the answer.

That is why most trackers cost $17 to $500 a month and a done-for-you retainer costs far more. For a market reference on the service side, Ahrefs' survey of 439 SEO providers puts local SEO at $1,557 a month on average ($1,819 from agencies, $1,150 from freelancers). That's a local SEO figure, not an AI search one. The retainer usually bundles a tracking tool inside that price, so you are not paying twice. If you buy software alone, you are buying a diagnosis, not a treatment.

Most owners land on a hybrid. They buy an entry or mid-tier tracker to keep their own eyes on the data, and they pay a retainer for the content and citation production they do not have time to run. If you are weighing whether to bring in help at all, our list of seven questions to ask before hiring an AI search agency is the filter to run first.

Whatever you buy, check it by hand for the first month. Nathan Gotch makes the point that a question run through an API or a clean browser session can come back very differently from what a real customer sees, because the answers are personalized. So if the tool says ChatGPT names you for a question, open ChatGPT, type that question yourself and look. Run it more than once, too. The same prompt can give a different answer on the next go.

The $0 to $99 DIY Stack

If you want the cheapest legitimate setup, here is what it looks like for a single-location business.

Tracking: $0. Once a week, run your 10 to 15 money questions directly in ChatGPT, Perplexity, Claude, and Google AI Overviews. Log where you appear in a spreadsheet with a date column. Budget 30 to 45 minutes. This is real tracking, not a shortcut, and it is what a paid tool automates.

Foundation: $0. Claim Foursquare, Bing Places, and Apple Maps. Fix NAP consistency. Add LocalBusiness schema to your site. That foundation drives citations across every AI surface and costs nothing but a few hours.

Optional automation: $17 to $99. Once your question list passes 15 or you add a second location, an entry tracker earns its price by saving you the weekly manual run and catching drops earlier. Below that threshold, stay free.

The DIY foundation is the same first move whether you eventually hire help or not. If you want to see the mechanics of getting cited on a specific surface, our walkthrough on getting cited by Perplexity shows the work behind the dashboard.

What to Actually Budget

Start with how much of the work you'll do yourself, then pick the line that fits.

Doing it all yourself: $0 to $99 a month. Manual checks or an entry tracker from the table above, plus your own hours on the foundation. That's right while you find your feet, and it can stay right for good if your list of questions is short.

A tracker plus outside help. The tracker line from the table, plus whatever a contractor or agency charges for the content and citation work. Get that second number as a written quote, because it's the bigger of the two.

Full service. One invoice for the work and the reporting. A decent retainer includes the tracking, so you shouldn't be paying for a separate tool on top.

Don't guess the line. Start low, watch your citations for two months, and let what you see decide whether to spend more. Every month a competitor gets named and you don't, a job goes to them instead.

Not sure which tier you actually need?

Book a call and we'll look at where you show up in ChatGPT, Perplexity and Google AI Overviews, then tell you straight whether a $0 DIY setup, an entry tracker, or a full retainer fits your business. No pitch for software you do not need.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does AI search optimization software typically cost per month?

Entry plans cost $17 to $99 a month, going by vendor pricing pages checked on November 3, 2026: Rankscale $17 (billed yearly), Otterly.AI $29, BrightLocal $31 (billed annually, inside its local SEO plans), SE Ranking $71, LLMrefs $79 (a limited-time price), Peec AI $95 and Semrush AI Visibility $99 (billed annually). Mid-tier plans run about $150 to $500 a month and track more prompts across more AI engines. Enterprise is mostly quote-only. Rankscale is the one vendor checked that publishes an enterprise price, $663 to $780 a month. One location tracking 15 to 50 questions fits an entry plan.

What is the cheapest way to track my AI search visibility?

Manual checking costs $0. You run your core queries directly in ChatGPT, Perplexity, Claude, and Google AI Overviews once a week and log where you appear. Budget 30 to 45 minutes weekly. If you want automation, the cheapest named plans are Rankscale at $17 a month (billed yearly) and Otterly.AI at $29 a month, and they run those queries for you on a schedule. The jump from free-manual to paid-automated is worth it once you track more than 10 queries or more than one location, because the time cost of manual checking exceeds the software cost. Below that threshold, a spreadsheet and a calendar reminder do the job for nothing.

Why is AI search optimization software so much cheaper than an agency retainer?

Because software only measures. It tells you where you appear and where you do not. It does not build the Foursquare profile, write the comparison content, add the schema markup, or clean up your citation network. Software is the dashboard. The work that moves your citation rate is separate. That is why software costs a fraction of a done-for-you retainer. The retainer usually includes a tracking tool inside that price. If you buy software alone, you are buying visibility into the problem, not the fix.

Do I need separate software for ChatGPT, Perplexity, and Claude?

No. Most trackers cover several engines in one plan. Otterly.AI's $29 Lite plan covers ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity and Microsoft Copilot. Not every engine is included, though. Otterly.AI sells Claude, Google AI Mode and Gemini as paid add-ons, and Scrunch AI keeps Claude, Gemini and Google AI Mode for its Enterprise plan. List the engines your customers actually use, then check the plan covers them without an add-on. Paying three separate subscriptions to cover three platforms is a waste.

Are there hidden fees or usage limits with these tools?

Often, yes. Plans are capped by prompts, the questions the tool runs for you. Semrush AI Visibility is $99 a month (billed annually) for 25 prompts, and each extra 50 prompts costs $60 a month, so tracking 75 questions there costs $159 a month before any extra domain at $99 a month. Read the prompt cap, the engines included and the seat cap before you buy. For a deeper breakdown, see our guide on overage charges and usage limits in AI search platforms. The sticker price is rarely the real price at scale.

How much should a multi-location business budget for software?

Budget by prompts, not storefronts. Most of these tools charge for the number of prompts they track, and every location multiplies your list. BrightLocal counts it directly, with up to 20 prompts per location. Five locations tracking the same 15 questions each need 75 prompts. That's past Otterly.AI's $29 Lite plan (15 prompts) and into its $189 Standard plan (100 prompts), or SE Ranking's $71 plan (75 prompts, billed annually). If you run more than three locations, ask for annual pricing: Otterly.AI takes 15% off for yearly billing, SE Ranking 20% and BrightLocal 25%.

Is free AI search tracking software good enough?

For a single-location business tracking under 10 queries, yes. Free tiers and manual checking cover the basics: are you cited, on which platform, for which questions. They fall short on trend data over time, competitor comparison, and automated alerts when your citation status changes. If your revenue depends heavily on AI referrals, the $17 to $99 a month for an entry tracker pays for itself in saved time and earlier detection of drops. Below that dependence, free is a legitimate long-term choice, not just a trial.

What is the total realistic first-year cost of software plus the work?

Two honest paths. DIY: $0 to $99 a month in software plus your own 4 to 6 hours of setup and a few hours monthly, so up to about $1,200 in software across the year and no cash for labor. Hybrid: $150 per month in software, so $1,800 across the year, plus a retainer for the content and citation work. Get that second number as a written quote. For a market reference, Ahrefs' survey of 439 SEO providers puts local SEO at $1,557 a month on average, $1,819 from agencies and $1,150 from freelancers (ahrefs.com/blog/seo-pricing). That's a local SEO figure, not an AI search one, but it's the closest published benchmark. The software is the small line item either way. The real cost is the ongoing production work that actually changes your citation rate, not the dashboard that measures it.

We also cover this in more detail in our guide to Monthly AI Search Optimization Plans: What You Actually Get at Each Price.

Matthew Johnson

About the author

Matthew Johnson is the founder of Pleiades Consultancy. He previously scaled his own marketing agency to multiple six figures before serving as CMO of an Amazon agency, where the client base tripled from 15 to 45 active clients during his tenure. He worked with some of the largest names in e-commerce, including Ridge Wallet, HexClad, BK Beauty, The Woobles, Walkize, Lonely Planet, and Obvi. He now works with service businesses to maximize their client acquisition and visibility through AI search with ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Perplexity, and Bing Copilot.